European Athletics celebrated its Golden Jubilee in 2020 and a new logo reflecting its 50th anniversary was used throughout the year.

However, European Athletics can actually trace its origins back almost a century.

In 1932, what was then the International Amateur Athletics Federation (IAAF) created a special committee to explore the possibility of organising a European Championships in Athletics.

The following year, the IAAF Council appointed a permanent European Committee.

The Committee met for the first time in Budapest on 7 January 1934 and the first European Athletics Championships were staged later that year in Torino.

The Committee was subsequently elected every four years by the whole membership of the IAAF and then, from 1966, exclusively by the IAAF's European Member Federations.

Its remit in this era included expanding the European competition programme which it did by adding the European Cup, first staged in 1965 and later to become the present day European Athletics Team Championships and then the European Indoor Games, first staged in 1966 which later became the European Athletics Indoor Championships.

On 1 November 1969 at a meeting of the Committee in Bucharest, the Association of the European Members of the IAAF was formed and its Constitutional Rules were confirmed at the following year's IAAF Congress.

These Rules came into force at the first European Athletic Association Congress in Paris on 7 November 1970, after which the organisation was known as the European Athletic Association (EAA).

The EAA's role now includes the further development of the European competition programme - and it has been at the forefront of introducing continental age-group championships as well as competitions for specific disciplines such as the European 10,000m Cup and European Throwing Cup - the development of the sport at all levels in Europe and supporting its Member Federations.

The EAA was legally re-constituted in Switzerland in 2003 and the Headquarters were moved to Lausanne, effective 1 January 2004.

Following the move to Lausanne, the association adopted the brand name European Athletics in 2004 and a new Constitution, reflecting the various changes to the organisational structure and working practices of the EAA, was adopted by an Extraordinary European Athletic Association Congress on 15 October 2005.

Svein Arne Hansen of Norway became the fifth President of European Athletics at the Congress in Bled, Slovenia on 11 April 2015. He was re-elected at the 26th European Athletics Congress in Prague on 13 April 2019 for another four-year term.

However, following the tragic death of Hansen while in office on 20 June 2020, European Athletics First Vice President Dobromir Karamarinov, from Bulgaria, became the European Athletics Interim President and was subsequently elected as the sixth Presdient on 14 October 2021.

The four previous European Athletics Presidents were: Switzerland's Hansjörg Wirz, who served from 1999 to 2015. Finland’s Carl-Olaf Homen from 1987 to 1999, Great Britain's Arthur Gold from 1976 to 1987 and Adriaan Paulen of the Netherlands from 1970 to 1976.

In 2016, to accommodate the expansion of the European Athletics staff and activities, there was a move to larger premises in Lausanne, alongside the former offices.

European Athletics' membership considerably during the late 1980s and early 1990s following the political changes in central and eastern European during this period, growing from 34 Member Federations in 1987 to 49 in 1991. Currently, there are 51 Member Federations with the most recent addition being Kosovo in 2015.

Official Partners
Official Partners
Official Partners
Official Partners
Official Partners
Official Partners
Broadcast Partner
Broadcast Partner
Preferred Suppliers
Supporting Hotel
Photography Agency