European Athletics launches 2016 Innovation Awards

  • News
  • European Athletics launches 2016 Innovation Awards

European Athletics today invited scientists, academics, students and others who have completed work contributing to the development of one or more aspects of athletics to enter their projects in the 10th edition of the European Athletics Innovation Awards.

The biennial competition, which was established in 1998, offers awards in five categories (coaching, promotion, technology, sustainability and open) and a CHF 20,000 prize fund.

Entries will be judged for their quality and relevance to athletics by an expert panel. The author of the top project in each category will receive CHF 2,000 and be advanced to the final round.

The panel, which is led by Council member Sylvia Barlag (NED), will select the overall winner for its importance to the development of athletics.

A CHF 10,000 first prize will be presented at an awards ceremony during the European Athletics Convention in Funchal, Portugal in October 2016.

Great Britain’s Scott Grace has won the top prize in the 2014 European Athletics Innovation Awards for his project entitled “Athletics 365” selected from 41 entries from 17 countries.

Additional information on the Innovation Awards is available under ‘Related Documents’.

Submission of Entries

The competition is open to all Europeans and all entries must be submitted online by clicking here.

Final date for receipt of entries is 5 June 2016.

Enquiries may be sent to Marc Sintes: [email protected].

Official Partners
Official Partners
Official Partners
Official Partners
Official Partners
Official Partners
Broadcast Partner
Broadcast Partner
Preferred Suppliers
Supporting Hotel
Photography Agency