Tel: +41 (21) 313 4350

    Team Europe confirmed for BUPA Great Edinburgh XCountry

    • Home
    • News
    • Team Europe confirmed for BUPA Great Edinburgh XCountry

    The annual international cross country match between Britain, Europe and the USA takes place on Saturday as part of the Bupa Great Edinburgh XCountry.

    The European team has been selected by European Athletics, based on individual results at the SPAR European Cross Country Championships in Belgrade in December.

    2014 will be the 25th edition of the Great Edinburgh XCountry, taking place in the picturesque surroundings of Holyrood Park.

    The men’s 4k international race and the two senior team events (GB v USA v Europe) will be streamed live through our European Athletics YouTube channel ( with English-language commentary.

    The Bupa Great Edinburgh XCountry also features a mass participation 5km called the Bupa Great Winter Run, which will see around 2,500 amateur runners tackle a multi-terrain course ahead of the elite races.

    Team Europe proved to be the strongest overall side in the International Team Match last year with 154 points over Great Britain & Northern Ireland with 175 and the United States with 201.

    This year's Team Europe:


    Senior: Alemayehu Bezabeh (Spain), Jeroen D’Hoedt (Belgium), Mohamed Marhum (Spain), Bashir Abdi (Belgium), Koen Naert (Belgium), Michael Mulhare (Ireland), David McCarthy (Ireland), Pieter-Jan Hannes (Belgium), Mitko Tsenov (Bulgaria), Youssef Mekdafou (France), Oleksandr Kuzmichov (Ukraine).

    Junior: Yemaneberhan Crippa (Italy), Mehdi Belhadj (France), Alexis Miellet (France), Maxime Hueber Moosbrugger (France), Nikolaus Franzmair (Austria), Santiago Pardo (Spain).


    Senior: Fionnuala Britton (Ireland), Sophie Duarte (France), Almensch Belete (Belgium), Dominika Nowakowska (Poland), Lucie Sekanova (Czech Republic), Carla Salomé Rocha (Portugal), Amela Terzic (Serbia), Ekaterina Sokolenko (Russia), Tania Carretero (Spain), Sara Treacy (Ireland).

    Junior: Sofia Ennaoui (Poland), Johanna Geyer-Carles (France), Natalia Sultan (Ukraine), Angelica Olmo (Italy), Cassandre Beaugrande (France), Maria Larsen (Denmark).